No. 2675

DENMARK, FINLAND, NORWAY and SWEDEN

Protocol concerning the exemption of nationals of these countries from the obligation to have a passport or residence permit while resident in a Scandinavian country other than their own. Signed at Copenhagen, on 22 May 1954

Official texts: Danish, Finnish, Norwegian and Swedish.

Registered by Denmark on 15 September 1954.

DANEMARK, FINLANDE, NORVÈGE et SUÈDE

Protocole exonérant les ressortissants de ces pays de l'obligation d'être munis d'un passeport ou d'un permis de séjour pour demeurer dans un pays nordique autre que le leur. Signé à Copenhague, le 22 mai 1954

Textes officiels danois, finnois, norvégien et suédois.

Enregistré par le Danemark le 15 septembre 1954.

[TRANSLATION — TRADUCTION]

No. 2675. PROTOCOL¹ BETWEEN THE GOVERNMENTS OF DENMARK, FINLAND, NORWAY AND SWEDEN CONCERNING THE EXEMPTION OF NATIONALS OF THESE COUNTRIES FROM THE OBLIGATION TO HAVE A PASSPORT OR RESIDENCE PERMIT WHILE RES-IDENT IN A SCANDINAVIAN COUNTRY OTHER THAN SIGNED AT COPENHAGEN, ON 22 MAY THEIR OWN. 1954

The Danish, Finnish, Norwegian and Swedish Governments have each decided that as from 1 July 1954 nationals of Denmark, Finland, Norway and Sweden shall no longer be required to have a passport or other travel document when travelling from any one to any other of those countries or to be in possession of a residence permit while resident in a Scandinavian country other than their own.

The Agreement of 14 July 1952² between Sweden, Denmark, Finland and Norway for the readmittance of aliens who have illegally entered the territory of another contracting party shall remain in force.

In this connexion the undersigned, being duly authorized thereto by their respective Governments, have agreed as follows:

Where persons are residing in a Scandinavian country other than their own and are presumed to be nationals of another Scandinavian country, information necessary to establish their identity and nationality may be exchanged directly between the police authorities concerned.

The Governments of the above-mentioned States hereby declare that if any of them should consider it necessary again to require passports and residence permits in respect of the nationals of one or more of those States, such action shall not be taken unless the Governments of the other States concerned have, so far as possible, been notified and efforts have been made to settle any disagreements which may have arisen and, in addition, reasonable notice of the denunciation of the Protocol has been given. Nevertheless, any of the Governments of the said States may without previous notice reintroduce the above-mentioned requirements in respect of the nationals of one or more of the other States in the event of war or a threat of war or similar extraordinary circumstances of an international or national character, but in such case the other Governments shall forthwith be informed of the action taken.

¹ Came into force on 1 July 1954, in accordance with the terms of the Protocol. ² United Nations, *Treaty Series*, Vol. 198, p. 47.

During the validity of the present Protocol, the Protocol of 14 July 1952¹ concerning the abolition of passports shall be regarded as without effect.

The present Protocol shall not apply to the Faroe Islands or to Greenland. It shall likewise not prevent the making of special regulations concerning areas where security or defence considerations are of special significance.

The Government of Iceland may, by an exchange of notes and subject to reciprocity, participate in the arrangements provided for in the Protocol in favour of the nationals of Denmark, Finland, Norway and Sweden.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF we, being duly authorized thereto, have signed the present Protocol and have thereto affixed our seals.

Done at Copenhagen on 22 May 1954 in a single original in the Danish, Finnish, Norwegian and Swedish languages, certified copies of which shall be transmitted to the Governments of the other contracting States by the Danish Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

For Denmark: (Signed) H. C. HANSEN [L.S.]

For Norway:
(Signed) Jens Bull
[L.S.]

For Finland:
(Signed) P. K. TARJANNE
[L.S.]

For Sweden:
(Signed) H. BECK-FRIIS
[L.S.]

¹ United Nations, Treaty Series, Vol. 198, p. 37.