BELGIUM, NETHERLANDS and LUXEMBOURG and YUGOSLAVIA

Agreement relating to the abolition of the visa. Signed at Belgrade on 17 June 1969

Authentic text: French.

Registered by Belgium on 24 July 1969.

BELGIQUE, PAYS-BAS et LUXEMBOURG et YOUGOSLAVIE

Accord relatif à la suppression du visa. Signé à Belgrade le 17 juin 1969

 $Texte\ authentique: français.$

Enregistré par la Belgique le 24 juillet 1969.

[TRADUCTION — TRANSLATION]

AGREEMENT ¹ BETWEEN THE BENELUX COUNTRIES AND YUGOSLAVIA RELATING TO THE ABOLITION OF THE VISA

The Governments of the Benelux States, acting jointly by virtue of the Convention between the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the Netherlands on the transfer of control of persons to the external frontiers of Benelux territory, signed at Brussels, on 11 April 1960, ² and

The Government of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia,

Desiring to facilitate the movement of their nationals in the territories of the other Contracting Parties,

Have agreed as follows:

Article 1

Under the terms of this Agreement,

"the Benelux countries" shall mean the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the Netherlands:

"the territory of Benelux" shall mean the whole of the European territories of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

Article 2

Nationals of the Benelux countries may, irrespective of their point of origin and for a stay not exceeding three months, including transit, enter Yugoslavia without a visa through all frontier posts open to international traffic, the sole requirement being a valid national passport and without any deposit of security being required. Possession of such a passport is also the sole requirement for their departure from the territory.

Article 3

Nationals of Yugoslavia may, irrespective of their point of origin and for a stay not exceeding three months, including transit, enter the territory of Benelux without a visa through all frontier posts open to international traffic, the sole requirement being a valid national passport and without any deposit of security being required. Possession of such a passport is also the sole requirement for their departure from the territory.

¹ Came into force on 3 July 1969, i.e., fifteen days after its signature in accordance with article 11.

² United Nations, Treaty Series, vol. 374, p. 3.

Article 4

Nationals of the Contracting Parties holding a permit serving as a passport, a *laissez-passer* serving as a passport or a provisional passport issued by a diplomatic or consular representative of their country shall not need a visa to leave the territory of the other Parties or to travel through that territory in order to return to their country.

Article 5

For a stay of more than three months, persons covered by this Agreement must, before their departure, obtain a visa through the diplomatic or consular representative of the country to which they wish to proceed.

Article 6

Nationals of the Benelux countries normally resident in Yugoslavia and nationals of Yugoslavia normally resident in one of the Benelux countries may leave and return to their country of residence without a visa, the sole requirement being a valid national passport and without any deposit of security being required.

Article 7

Each Government reserves the right to refuse admission to its country to persons who do not possess the necessary documents for entry or do not have adequate means of subsistence or the possibility of acquiring such means by legally authorized work or who are designated as undesirable or are deemed likely to endanger public law and order or national security.

Article 8

Save as regards the foregoing provisions, the laws and regulations in force in the Benelux countries and Yugoslavia concerning the entry, temporary or permanent residence and deportation of aliens and the carrying on by them of a gainful occupation, shall continue to apply.

Article 9

The Government of each Contracting Party undertakes to admit to its territory at any time and without formalities persons possessing one of the travel documents mentioned in articles 2, 3 and 4 of this Agreement. It shall also admit persons without such travel documents if it is established that they have entered the territory of other Contracting Parties under the travel documents mentioned in articles 2, 3 and 4 of this Agreement or if it is established that they are its nationals.

Article 10

In so far as relates to the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the application of this Agreement may be extended to Surinam and the Netherlands Antilles by notification from the Government of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to the Government of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia.

Article 11

This Agreement shall enter into force fifteen days after its signature and shall be valid for one year.

It shall be extended for an indefinite period if the Belgian Government receives notification to this effect from each of the signatory Governments at least thirty days before the expiration of the initial period.

The Belgian Government shall keep each of the other signatory Governments informed of the prorogation or non-prorogation of the Agreement.

Article 12

Both before and after the expiry of the initial period of one year, any of the signatory Governments may denounce the Agreement on thirty days' notice to the Belgian Government.

Denunciation by a single signatory Government shall entail the abrogation of the Agreement.

The Belgian Government shall advise the other signatory Governments of the receipt of the notification mentioned in this article.

Article 13

Save as regards article 9, the application of this Agreement may be suspended by any of the Contracting Parties.

Suspension shall be notified to the Belgian Government immediately through the diplomatic channel. That Government shall advise the other signatory Governments of the receipt of such notification. The same procedure shall be followed when the measure in question is revoked.

In witness whereof, the undersigned, being duly authorized for that purpose, have signed this Agreement.

Done at Belgrade, on 17 June 1969, in quadruplicate, in the French language.

For Benelux:

For the Government of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia:

For the Government of the Kingdom of Belgium:

M. TEPAVAC

M. RIJMENANS

For the Government of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg:

F. VIGEVENO

For the Government of the Kingdom of the Netherlands:

F. VIGEVENO