No. 10526

BELGIUM, LUXEMBOURG and NETHERLANDS and MALAWI

Agreement concerning the abolition of visas. Signed at London on 3 December 1969

Authentic text: English.

Registered by the Netherlands on 5 June 1970.

BELGIQUE, LUXEMBOURG et PAYS-BAS et MALAWI

Accord relatif à la suppression de la formalité du visa. Signé à Londres le 3 décembre 1969

Texte authentique: anglais.

Enregistré par les Pays-Bas le 5 juin 1970.

AGREEMENT 1 BETWEEN THE BENELUX COUNTRIES AND MALAWI

The Governments of the Benelux countries acting jointly under the Agreement between the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the Netherlands signed at Brussels on 11 April 1960 ² concerning the transfer of immigration control to the outer frontiers of Benelux, and

The Government of Malawi,

Desirous of further simplifying the travel formalities for their respective nationals and of adapting them to the situation that has arisen as a result of the transfer of immigration control to the outer frontiers of Benelux,

Have agreed as follows:

Article 1

In this Agreement the term "Benelux countries" shall mean: the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the Netherlands:

the term "Benelux territory" shall mean: the joint territories in Europe of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

Article 2

Nationals of the Benelux countries who are holders of a valid national passport may, irrespective of the point of their departure, enter Malawi without a visa and stay for a period not exceeding three months.

No guaranty shall be demanded, and the valid national passport shall also be the sole document required when leaving that country.

¹ Came into force on 1 January 1970, in accordance with article 10, and applicable to the Netherlands Antilles as from the latter date according to a notification made on 3 December 1969 under article 9.

² United Nations, Treaty Series, vol. 374, p. 3.

Article 3

Nationals of Malawi who are holders of a valid national passport may, irrespective of the point of their departure, enter Benelux territory without a visa and stay for a period not exceeding three months. No guaranty shall be demanded, and the valid national passport shall also be the sole document required when leaving that territory.

The Government of Malawi shall inform the Benelux countries through diplomatic channels what documents the Government of Malawi regards as valid in the meaning of this Agreement.

Article 4

For a stay exceeding three months the persons coming under the provisions of this Agreement shall before their departure obtain the required permission through the diplomatic or consular representative of the country they wish to enter.

Article 5

Nationals of the Benelux countries residing in Malawi with the approval of the competent authorities of Malawi and nationals of Malawi residing in any of the Benelux countries with the approval of the competent authorities in the Benelux countries may leave their country of residence and return to it without a visa on presentation of a valid national passport. No guaranty shall be demanded.

Article 6

Each Government reserves the right to refuse to admit to its territory any person not holding the documents required for entry or lacking sufficient means of support and repatriation to their country of origin, or to refuse to admit persons regarded as undesirable aliens or whose presence in the country is regarded as prejudicial to law and order or national security.

Article 7

The present Agreement shall not affect the aliens regulations in force in the Benelux countries and in Malawi concerning entry, length of stay, expulsion and gainful occupation, whether or not as employees, of aliens, except in respect of the foregoing provisions.

Article 8

Each Government undertakes to re-admit to its territory at any time and without formalities:

- a) its nationals who have entered the territory of the other party;
- b) persons who have entered its territory on presentation of a valid national passport issued by the Belgian, Luxembourg, Netherlands or the Malawi authorities, even if their nationality is doubtful.

Article 9

As regards the Kingdom of the Netherlands this Agreement may be extended to Surinam and the Netherlands Antilles by a Netherlands Government notification addressed to the Government of Malawi.

Article 10

This Agreement shall enter into force on 1 January 1970 for a period of one year. If the Agreement has not been denounced thirty days before the expiry of that period, it shall be deemed to have been renewed indefinitely. After the first period of one year each signatory Government may denounce the Agreement by giving thirty day's notice to the Belgian Government.

The Agreement shall cease to be effective if one of the signatory Governments denounces it.

The Belgian Government shall inform the other signatory Governments of the receipt of the thirty day's notice referred to in this article.

Article 11

With the exception of Article 8 the operation of this Agreement may be suspended by any Contracting Party.

The Belgian Government shall be notified forthwith of such suspension through the diplomatic channel. The Belgian Government shall inform the other signatory Governments of the receipt of such notification. The same procedure shall be adopted when the suspension is lifted.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the undersigned, being duly authorised thereto, have signed the present Agreement.

DONE at London in the English language on the 3rd day of December 1969.

For Benelux:

For the Government of Malawi:

For the Belgian Government:

R. W. KATENGA-KAUNDA

J. VAN DEN BOSCH

For the Luxembourg Government:

A. CLASEN

For the Netherlands Government:

J. H. VAN ROIJEN