No. 10986

NETHERLANDS, BELGIUM AND LUXEMBOURG and SWAZILAND

Exchange of letters constituting an agreement concerning the abolition of visas. London, 28 July 1970

Authentic text: English.

Registered by the Netherlands on 3 March 1971.

PAYS-BAS, BELGIQUE ET LUXEMBOURG et SOUAZILAND

Échange de lettres constituant un accord relatif à la suppression de la formalité du visa. Londres, 28 juillet 1970

Texte authentique: anglais.

Enregistré par les Pays-Bas le 3 mars 1971.

EXCHANGE OF LETTERS CONSTITUTING AN AGREE-THE GOVERNMENT OF MENT 1 BETWEEN KINGDOM OF THE NETHERLANDS, THE GOVERN-MENT OF THE KINGDOM OF BELGIUM AND GRAND DUCHY OF GOVERNMENT THE OF LUXEMBOURG. ONE HAND, AND ON THE GOVERNMENT OF SWAZILAND, ON THE OTHER HAND, CONCERNING THE ABOLITION OF VISAS

I

London, 28 July 1970

Excellency,

We have the honour to refer to conversations between representatives of the Governments of the Benelux countries and representatives of the Government of Swaziland relating to the facilitation of travel between their respective countries by abolishing visa requirements. We are instructed to communicate to Your Excellency that the Governments of the Benelux countries are prepared to conclude an agreement with respect to this matter in the following terms:

1. In this agreement, the term "Benelux countries" shall mean: the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxemburg and the Kingdom of the Netherlands;

The term "Benelux territory" shall mean: the joint territories in Europe of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxemburg and the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

- 2. Nationals of the Benelux countries who are holders of a valid national passport may, irrespective of the point of their departure enter Swaziland without a visa and stay for a period not exceeding three months. No guaranty shall be demanded, and the valid national passport shall also be the sole document required when leaving that country.
 - 3. Nationals of Swaziland who are holders of a valid national passport may,

¹ Came into force on 1 September 1970, in accordance with paragraph 10 of the said letters. By a notification dated on 28 July 1970 the Agreement was extended to the Netherlands Antilles, to take effect on 1 September 1970, in accordance with paragraph 9 of the letters.

irrespective of the point of their departure, enter Benelux territory without a visa and stay for a period not exceeding three months.

No guaranty shall be demanded, and the valid national passport shall also be the sole document required when leaving that territory.

- 4. For a stay exceeding three months the persons coming under the provisions of this agreement shall before their departure obtain the required permission through the diplomatic or consular representative of the country they wish to enter.
- 5. Nationals of the Benelux countries residing in Swaziland with the approval of the competent authorities of Swaziland and nationals of Swaziland residing in any of the Benelux countries with the approval of the competent authorities in the Benelux countries may leave their country of residence and return to it without a visa on presentation of a valid national passport. No guaranty shall be demanded.
- 6. Each Government reserves the right to refuse to admit to its territory any person not holding the documents required for entry or lacking sufficient means of support or unable to acquire such means by engaging in lawful occupations, or to refuse to admit persons regarded as undesirable aliens or whose presence in the country is regarded as prejudicial to law and order or national security.
- 7. The present agreement shall not affect the aliens regulations in force in the Benelux countries and in Swaziland governing entry, length of stay, residence, expulsion and any form of occupation, except in respect of the foregoing provisions.
- 8. Each Government undertakes to admit to its territory, at any time and without formalities, holders of valid national passports issued by the said Government, as also persons of whom it has been proved that they are nationals of the country represented by this Government.

Each Government shall also admit persons who are no longer in possession of a passport, if it has been established that they have entered the territory of the other Contracting Party on presentation of a passport as referred to in the foregoing paragraph.

- 9. As regards the Kingdom of the Netherlands this agreement may be extended to Surinam and the Netherlands Antilles by notification addressed by the Government of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to the Government of Swaziland.
- 10. This agreement shall enter into force on 1 September 1970 for a period of one year. If the agreement has not been denounced thirty days before the expiry of that period, it shall be deemed to have been renewed indefinitely. After the first period of one year each Contracting Government may denounce the agreement by giving thirty day's notice to the Belgian Government.

The agreement shall cease to be effective if one of the Contracting Governments denounces it.

The Belgian Government shall inform the other Contracting Governments of the receipt of the thirty day's notice referred to in this point.

11. Any of the Contracting Governments may suspend the operation of this agreement by notification to the Belgian Government through diplomatic channels.

Suspension by one of the Contracting Governments shall also suspend its operation in respect of the other Contracting Governments.

However, suspension shall not affect the operation of points 8 and 10.

The Belgian Government shall inform the other Contracting Governments of the receipt of notification of suspension as referred to in this point, as also of the receipt of a notification to the effect that the suspension has been terminated.

If these provisions are acceptable to Your Government we have the honour to propose that this Note and Your Excellency's Notes in reply to each of us concurring therein shall constitute the agreement between the Governments of the Benelux countries, acting jointly under the Agreement between the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Kingdom of Belgium and the Grand Duchy of Luxemburg, signed at Brussels on 11 April 1960 concerning the transfer of immigration control to the outer frontiers of Benelux, on the one hand, and the Government of Swaziland, on the other.

Accept, Excellency, the renewed assurances of our highest consideration.

The Ambassador of Belgium:

J. VAN DEN BOSCH

The Ambassador of Luxemburg:

A. CLASEN

The Ambassador of the Netherlands:

J.H. VAN ROUEN

His Excellency Nkomeni Douglas Ntiwane Ambassador of the Kingdom of Swaziland

¹ United Nations, Treaty Series, vol. 374, p. 3.

 Π^{1}

KINGDOM OF SWAZILAND HIGH COMMISSION

Ref. nr. HCL. 254 C

28th July 1970

Your Excellency,

I have the honour to acknowledge receipt of Your Excellency's letter of the 28th July, 1970 which reads as follows:

[See letter I]

In reply I have the honour to inform Your Excellency that the proposed arrangements are acceptable to the Swaziland Government, which also regards Your Excellency's letter and this reply as constituting an agreement between our two Governments, which shall enter into force on the 1st September 1970.

Accept, Excellency, the renewed assurances of my highest consideration.

NKOMENI DOUGLAS NTIWANE

High Commissioner for the Kingdom of Swaziland

His Excellency the Ambassador for Netherlands J. H. van Roijen The Royal Netherlands Embassy London S.W.7.

¹ Letters in identical term were exchanged between the Belgian and Swazi Governments and between the Luxembourg and Swazi Governments. (Information provided by the Government of the Netherlands.)