No. 18820

MULTILATERAL

Convention for the establishment of the Council of the Entente. Signed at Abidjan on 29 May 1959

Authentic text: French. Registered by the Niger on 19 May 1980.

MULTILATÉRAL

Convention portant création du Conseil de l'Entente. Signée à Abidjan le 29 mai 1959

Texte authentique : français. Enregistrée par le Niger le 19 mai 1980. [TRANSLATION - TRADUCTION]

ESTABLISHMENT OF THE COUNCIL OF THE ENTENTE AMONG THE STATES OF NIGER, THE UPPER VOLTA, DAHOMEY AND THE IVORY COAST¹

The Heads of Government, Presidents and Vice-Presidents of the Legislative Assemblies of the States of Niger, the Upper Volta, Dahomey and the Ivory Coast, meeting at Abidjan on 29 May 1959, have decided to establish among their States, for the purpose of harmonizing their relations on the basis of friendship, brotherhood and solidarity, a body called: The Council of the Entente.

I. COMPOSITION

- The President of the Government of each State;

- The Presidents and Vice-Presidents of the Legislative Assembly of each State;

- The Ministers concerned with the issues discussed at each meeting.

II. SESSIONS

Two ordinary sessions shall be held annually.

An extraordinary session may be held at any time at the request of two or more member States.

Sessions shall be held in turn each year in the capitals of the member States under the chairmanship of the Head of Government of the host State.

III. DECISIONS

Decisions taken jointly shall be enforceable.

In the event of failure by one or more member States to give effect to decision, the dispute shall be brought before the Arbitration Tribunal operating at the Community level.

IV

The Council of the Entente shall be open to all States members of the Community.

Any member State of the Council of the Entente may enter into agreements with a State member of the Community provided such agreements are not prejudicial to the interests of the Council of the Entente.

V. SOLIDARITY FUND

The member States of the Council of the Entente shall establish among themselves a "solidarity fund", to be financed by one tenth of their annual budget revenues.

Opper void

 ¹ The Convention came into force on 29 May 1959 by signature for the following States (which signed it on that date): Benin; Ivory Coast; Niger; Upper Volta.

DISTRIBUTION

Two tenths shall be set aside for the establishment of a reserve fund, the "Solidarity Reserve Fund".

The remainder shall be divided among the various States according to the rule of inverse proportion.

The President of the Council of the Republic of Niger, HAMANI DIORI

The President of the Legislative Assembly of Niger, BOUBOU HAMA

1980

The President of the Council of the Republic of the Upper Volta, MAURICE YAMEOGO

The President of the Legislative Assembly of the Upper Volta, KONE BEGNON

The Prime Minister of the Republic of Dahomey, HUBERT MAGA

The President of the Legislative Assembly of Dahomey, J. AHOMADEGBE

The Prime Minister of the Republic of the Ivory Coast, F. HOUPHOUET-BOIGNY

The President of the Legislative Assembly of the Ivory Coast, P. YACE