No. 22692

ITALY, BELGIUM, FRANCE, GERMANY, FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF, LUXEMBOURG and NETHERLANDS

Decision constituting an agreement on the provisional location of certain institutions and departments of the Communities. Adopted at Brussels on 8 April 1965

Authentic texts: German, French, Italian and Dutch. Registered by Italy on 31 January 1984.

ITALIE, ALLEMAGNE, RÉPUBLIQUE FÉDÉRALE D', BELGIQUE, FRANCE, LUXEMBOURG et PAYS-BAS

Décision constituant un accord, relative à l'installation provisoire de certaines institutions et de certains services des Communautés. Adoptée à Bruxelles le 8 avril 1965

Textes authentiques : allemand, français, italien et néerlandais. Enregistrée par l'Italie le 31 janvier 1984.

[Translation 1 — Traduction 2]

DECISION³ OF THE REPRESENTATIVES OF THE GOVERNMENTS OF THE MEMBER STATES ON THE PROVISIONAL LOCATION OF CERTAIN INSTITUTIONS AND DEPARTMENTS OF THE COMMUNITIES

The representatives of the Governments of the Member States,

Having regard to article 37 of the Treaty establishing a Single Council and a Single Commission of the European Communities,4

Considering that it is appropriate, at the time of setting up a Single Council and a Single Commission of the European Communities, in order to settle certain problems peculiar to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, to designate Luxembourg as the provisional place of work of certain institutions and departments, without prejudice to the application of article 77 of the Treaty establishing the European Coal and Steel Community,⁵ article 216 of the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community,⁶ article 189 of the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community⁷ and of the second paragraph of article 1 of the Protocol on the Statute of the European Investment Bank,⁶

Have decided:

- Article 1. Luxembourg, Brussels and Strasbourg shall remain the provisional places of work of the institutions of the Communities.
- Article 2. During the months of April, June and October, the Council shall hold its sessions in Luxembourg.
 - Article 3. The Court of Justice shall remain in Luxembourg.

There shall also be located in Luxembourg the judicial and quasi-judicial bodies, including those competent to apply the rules on competition, already existing or yet to be set up pursuant to the Treaties establishing the European Coal and Steel Community, the European Economic Community and the European Atomic Energy Community, or to conventions concluded within the framework of the Communities, whether between Member States or with third countries.

- Article 4. The General Secretariat of the Assembly and its departments shall remain in Luxembourg.
- Article 5. The European Investment Bank shall be located in Luxembourg, where its governing bodies shall meet and all its activities shall be carried on.

¹ Translation supplied by the Government of Italy.

² Traduction fournie par le Gouvernement italien.

³ Came into force on 1 July 1967, the date of entry into force of the Treaty establishing a Single Council and a Single Commission of the European Communities, in accordance with article 13.

⁴ See p. 3 of this volume.

⁵ United Nations, Treaty Series, vol. 261, p. 140.

⁶ Ibid., vol. 298, p. 3.

⁷ Ibid., p. 167.

This provision relates in particular to the development of its present activities, especially those mentioned in article 130 of the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, to the possible extension of those activities to other fields and to such new tasks as may be assigned to the Bank.

An office for liaison between the Commission and the European Investment Bank shall be located in Luxembourg, with the particular task of facilitating the operations of the European Development Fund.

- Article 6. The Monetary Committee shall meet in Luxembourg and in Brussels.
- Article 7. The financial departments of the European Coal and Steel Community shall be located in Luxembourg. These comprise the Directorate-General for Credit and Investments, the department responsible for collecting the levy and the accounts departments attached thereto.
- Article 8. An Official Publications Office of the European Communities with a joint sales office and a medium- and long-term translation service attached shall be located in Luxembourg.
- Article 9. Further, the following departments of the Commission shall be located in Luxembourg:
- (a) The Statistical Office and the Data Processing Department;
- (b) The hygiene and industrial safety departments of the European Economic Community and of the European Coal and Steel Community;
- (c) The Directorate-General for the Dissemination of Information, the Directorate for Health Protection and the Directorate for Safeguards of the European Atomic Energy Community;

and the appropriate administrative and technical infrastructure.

Article 10. The Governments of the Member States are willing to locate in Luxembourg, or to transfer thereto, other Community bodies and departments, particularly those concerned with finance, provided that their proper functioning can be ensured.

To this end, they request the Commission to present to them annually a report on the current situation concerning the location of Community bodies and departments and on the possibility of taking new steps to give effect to this provision, account being taken of the need to ensure the proper functioning of the Communities.

- Article 11. In order to ensure the proper functioning of the European Coal and Steel Community, the Commission is requested to transfer the various departments in a gradual and coordinated manner, transferring last the departments which manage the coal and steel markets.
- Article 12. Subject to the preceding provisions, this decision shall not affect the provisional places of work of the institutions and departments of the European Communities, as determined by previous decisions of the Governments, nor the regrouping of departments occasioned by the establishing of a Single Council and a Single Commission.

Article 13. This decision shall enter into force on the same date as the Treaty establishing a Single Council and a Single Commission of the European Communities.

Done at Brussels this eighth day of April in the year one thousand nine hundred and sixty-five.

Paul-Henri Spaak
Kurt Schmücker
Maurice Couve de Murville
Amintore Fanfani
Pierre Werner
J. M. A. H. Luns