No. 25817

FINLAND and GERMAN DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC

Agreement on the abolition of visas (with annex). Signed at Berlin on 1 October 1987

Authentic texts: Finnish and German. Registered by Finland on 30 March 1988.

FINLANDE

et

RÉPUBLIQUE DÉMOCRATIQUE ALLEMANDE

Accord relatif à la suppression des visas (avec annexe). Signé à Berlin le 1^{er} octobre 1987

Textes authentiques : finnois et allemand. Enregistré par la Finlande le 30 mars 1988.

[TRANSLATION — TRADUCTION]

AGREEMENT¹ BETWEEN THE GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF FINLAND AND THE GOVERNMENT OF THE GERMAN DEMO-CRATIC REPUBLIC ON THE ABOLITION OF VISAS

The Government of the Republic of Finland and the Government of the German Democratic Republic,

Desiring to strengthen further the friendly relations existing between the two States on the basis of the principles and recommendations of the Final Act of the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe,²

Have agreed to conclude this Agreement on the abolition of visas.

Article 1. 1. Nationals of the Republic of Finland and nationals of the German Democratic Republic shall be exempt from the visa requirement within the context of this Agreement and under the conditions laid down therein.

For the purposes of this Agreement, the term "nationals" means persons who have the nationality of the State concerned under the legislation of that State.

Nationals of either State who are in possession of a valid travel Article 2. 1. document specified in the annex to this Agreement may enter the territory of the other State without a visa and stay therein for a period of up to 90 days.

This period of up to 90 days for the stay of nationals of the German Democratic Republic in the territory of the Republic of Finland shall be calculated from the time of entry into the territory of one of the Nordic States Parties to the Convention, concluded on 12 July 1957, concerning the waiver of passport control at the intra-Nordic frontiers.³ Each period of stay in the territory of the States Parties to the aforesaid Convention which has taken place six months before the entry into the territory of the States Parties to the aforesaid Convention shall be included in the 90-day maximum.

Article 3. Nationals of one State who have entered the other State to take up their post in the diplomatic or consular mission in the territory of that other State, and their family members forming a household who are nationals of the sending State, shall be entitled, after due registration with the competent authority of the other State, to stay in the territory of that other State for the duration of their assignment and to exit and enter without a visa in that period.

Article 4. Crossing of State frontiers shall be possible only at frontier checkpoints authorized for international traffic.

The competent authorities of the Republic of Finland and of the German Article 5. Democratic Republic shall exchange, through the diplomatic channel, within 30 days from the date of signature of this Agreement, specimens of the travel documents specified in the annex to article 2, paragraph 1, of this Agreement. They shall notify each other, through the same channel, of any change affecting the valid travel documents, or of the issue of new documents not later than 30 days prior to their introduction, and shall exchange their respective specimens.

 ¹ Came into force on 1 January 1988, in accordance with article 11.
² International Legal Materials, vol. 14 (1975), p. 1292 (American Society of International Law).
³ United Nations, Treaty Series, vol. 322, p. 245.

Article 6. 1. In cases where nationals of one State lose their travel documents in the territory of the other State, the diplomatic or consular mission shall issue a new travel document.

2. Exits using the travel document issued in accordance with paragraph 1 shall be subject to the domestic legislation of the State visited.

Article 7. This Agreement shall not affect the right of the high authorities of each State to prohibit the entry of nationals of the other State who are deemed undesirable, or the right to curtail or end the stay of such persons under the internal regulations of the State visited.

Article 8. 1. Nationals of one State shall comply, in the territory of the other State, with the laws and regulations in force so long as they remain in the territory of the other State.

2. The internal reporting regulations of the two States shall not be affected by this Agreement.

Article 9. Application of this Agreement may be suspended—in whole or in part by either Party to the Agreement on a provisional basis for reasons of public policy or security. In the event of such suspension, the other Party to the Agreement shall be notified without delay through the diplomatic channel.

Article 10. The Parties to the Agreement undertake to admit their own nationals at any time and without formalities if they have entered the territory of the other State on the basis of this Agreement and if their right to stay there has ceased.

Article 11. 1. This Agreement shall be concluded for an indefinite period and shall enter into force on 1 January 1988.

2. Either of the Parties to this Agreement may denounce it at any time in writing through the diplomatic channel; the Agreement shall cease to have effect on the nineteenth day after the other Party has received notice of the denunciation.

DONE in Berlin, on 1 October 1987, in two originals, in the Finnish and German languages, both texts being authentic.

For the Government of the Republic of Finland:

KALEVI SORSA

For the Government of the German Democratic Republic:

OSKAR FISCHER

1988

Vol. 1500. I-25817

90

ANNEX

Annex to article 2 (1) of the Agreement between the Government of the Republic of Finland and the Government of the German Democratic Republic on the abolition of visas

The following travel documents shall entitle nationals of the Republic of Finland to cross the frontier without a visa:

-Ordinary passports

-Service passports

-Diplomatic passports

The following travel documents shall entitle nationals of the German Democratic Republic to cross the frontier without a visa:

-Ordinary passports

-Service passports

-Diplomatic passports